UNIT_02_Audioscript


Student’s Book Audioscript

 

Unit 2

 

Page 17, Listening Comprehension

 

Conversation One [B = British English]

A: Are you free on Sunday at 11:30? Nick Hornby’s going to be at the City Nights Bookstore.

B: Nick Hornby? I love his books. What’s he doing there?

A: Giving a talk about his novel Slam. Want to go?

B: Absolutely.

Conversation Two 

A: What’s playing at the Cinema Center?

B: There’s an old Marilyn Monroe movie showing at 7:10—Bus Stop. Interested? A: Not really. I’m not a Marilyn Monroe fan.

Conversation Three 

A: Oh, look. Agamemnon is at the Theater in the Circle.

B: What’s Agamemnon?

A: It’s a famous Greek play. It’s great. There’s a performance tonight at eight o’clock. Do you want to go?

B: At eight? Maybe.

Conversation Four [A = Spanish]

A: I’m in the mood for a good concert. What’s playing at the Festival?

B: The Boston Symphony Orchestra. They’re doing Beethoven’s Fifth tonight.

A: That sounds great. What time?

B: At 7:45. Let’s do it.

A: Well, it’s 6:30 now. Meet you there in an hour?

 

Page 19, Listening Comprehension 

 

Conversation One

A: Excuse me. I’m looking for the City Center. Do you know where that is?

B: The City Center? Let me think . . . Oh, sure. Go straight down this street.

A: Pacific Street?

B: That’s right. Then turn right on Atlantic.

A: Right on Atlantic . . .

B: Then, go to the corner of Indian and Atlantic. The City Center is on the right side of the street. You can’t miss it.

A: Thanks!

Conversation Two

A: Excuse me. I’m looking for the Art Museum.

B: Actually, I’m not from around here. But I think that’s it right across the street. A: Oh, right! I see it now. Thanks!

Conversation Three

A: Ma’am? Excuse me. I’m looking for the Cluny Theater.

B: The Cluny Theater? Do you know the address?

A: Yes. It’s 600 Hudson Street.

B: 600 Hudson Street? Oh, yeah! I know where that is. Walk straight down Bay one block. Then turn left on Adriatic. Walk to the corner of Hudson and turn left. It’s right there on the corner.

 

Page 20, Listening Comprehension  

 

Conversation One [B = Chinese]

A: Kingston Culturefest. This is Amy.

B: Yes, hello. Can you tell me where the Classic Film Series is playing?

A: Certainly. It’s at the Lamont Theater. Do you know where that is?

B: Actually no. Could you give me the address and directions?

A: Sure. It’s at 1175 66th Street. Between Central Avenue and Greenway.

B: Thanks. The movies all start at 7:00, right?

A: That’s right. Every night at 7:00.

B: And one more question. What’s playing tonight?

A: Hmm. Tonight. That’s May 6. You’re in luck! Tonight there’s a double feature: Nice to Meet You and The 39 Steps. Two movies for the price of one: $10.00!

Conversation Two [B = French]

A: Good morning. Kingston Culturefest. This is Amy. May I help you?

B: Yes, thanks. I’m interested in the History of Latin Music lecture and concert on May

  1. That’s at the Natural History Museum, isn’t it?

A: Yes, that’s right. 110 Greenway, right across the street from Green Park. In the large auditorium.

B: Are there still some seats available?

A: Let me check. Yes. I have some seats available for the matinee. Would you like orchestra or balcony?

B: What’s the difference in price?

A: Actually those tickets are free. If you just give me your name, you can pick them up at the museum box office a half hour before the talk.

B: They’re free? That’s great! I thought they would be really expensive! In that case, I’ll take the orchestra seats.

A: Fine. Those seats will be in row E, seats 10 and 11.

B: 10 and 11 E?

A: Yes, that’s right.

B: My name’s David Duclos. Oh. And what time’s the matinee? A: 2:00.

 

Conversation Three [B = Spanish]

A: Good evening. This is the Kingston Culturefest Box Office. How can I help you? B: Hello. I need two tickets to the Ludacris Hip-hop concert.

A: Which day?

B: Friday the tenth, please. That show’s at 7:30, right?

A: Right. We have orchestra seats at $25.00 and balcony seats at $18.00. Which would you prefer?

B: I’ll take the balcony. Are they good seats?

A: All the seats at Kingston Concert Hall are good, but I’ll check for you, sir. Yes, those are front row in the center, seats 201 and 202. I think you’ll be very happy with them.

B: Great. By the way, just to be sure. What’s the address?

A: 3600 Central Avenue. Across from the park.

B: I’m confused. Green Park?

A: No. Lamont Park.

B: Oh. I know where that is . . . between 71st and 72nd.

A: No. You’re thinking of the Sports Complex. The Kingston Concert Hall is on the corner of Westway.

B: Thanks. Let me give you my name . . .

Conversation Four [B = British English]  A: Kingston Culturefest. Can I help you?

B: Yes. I need two tickets to the Lion King. I just love that play.

A: I do too. It’s a classic. Which day would you like to see it?

B: Saturday the 11th.

A: Hmm. Ooh. I’m sorry. Saturday’s sold out. What about Sunday?

B: OK. Is that playing at the Lamont Theater?

A: No, it’s not. It’s at Kingston Gallery 2. There’s a really big theater inside.

B: Fine. Where exactly is Gallery 2?

A: It’s on Central Avenue. It takes the whole block between 73rd and 74th. On Sunday, the show’s a matinee. It starts at 2:30. All seats are $50.00 . . .

Conversation Five [B = Arabic] A: Hello. Culturefest.

B: Hi. I’d like to order a ticket for the Picasso lecture.

A: Certainly. Which day, please?

B: Thursday, if that’s possible. And how much are the tickets?

A: Let’s see. Yes. I’ve got space on Thursday. All seats are $36.00.

B: Let me just confirm the time. That’s at 8:30, correct?

A: Actually it’s at 8:00 on Thursdays.

B: And the lecture is at Kingston Gallery 2?

A: No. It’s at Gallery 1. That’s on Greenway, across from the Natural History Museum.

B: Between 70th and 71st.

A: Right.

 

Page 24, Listening Comprehension 

 

Conversation One

A: I feel like some loud music tonight.

B: Like what?

A: How about some rock? There’s a great concert at PFX.

B: Who’s playing?

A: Rock Around the Block.

B: Oh yeah? What time’s the show?

A: Ten o’clock.

B: Hmm. You know, on second thought, that’s past my bedtime. I have to work tomorrow!

Conversation Two [B = Japanese]

A: Hey. There’s a reception at the Clark Street Gallery for their new exhibit.

B: Really? Who’s the artist?

A: Martin Yu.

B: Martin Yu? I love his flower photos.

A: Me too. What do you think?

B: What time’s the reception?

A: From seven to nine.

B: Let’s go!

Conversation Three A: What are you doing tonight?

B: Nothing much. Why?

A: Well, I’ve got an extra ticket to Twelfth Night.

B: Twelfth Night? Isn’t that a play by Shakespeare?

A: Yup. Want to go?

B: Sounds like fun! What time?

A: Eight o’clock. At the Stage Theater.

B: Great. I’ll meet you there . . . in front of the box office.

Bình luận về bài viết này